How to make sure vlan 1 is not used

Hi, I always see vlan 1 as management vlan and 4091 as LAN vlan tags. But as a security measurement, 1 is not really allowed.
So how can I change this or what should I do to remove the threat? And how can I change vlan 4091 tag to another number?

I’m not really sure what your question is. You have already identified that you don’t want to use VLAN 1 due to security concerns. So… just don’t use it then. You are free to choose any VLAN you like. How you change it depends on the gear you’re using.

1 Like

Well, I am a noob in this…
But the 1 IS in use by the management vlan? Whatever that may be.
If a switch is connected to the Netgate, it is connecting because of both have vlan 1 , no?
So a “hacker” can connect his switch to the network as well? Or has this got nothing to do with it?

Also my chief wants the devices with static ip’s to be in the 192.2.50.0 range. The Netgate has 192.2.50.253. But it is in the default 4091 vlan. How can I safely change this to a tag 250?

This is what it is now.

4090 and 4091 are internal use tags for their internal use not exposed exposed externally.

So I ignore the question about “removing/disabling” vlan tag 1 and 4091 then.

But on the switches I’ll have to make vlan tags 4091, 230, 208, 240,… and remove vlan tag 1 ? Or … ?

No, ignore 4091 as it does not leave the device. And if you don’t want to use VLAN 1 (native) then don’t.

Ok, but the Netgate device has ip 10.2.50.253, and the DHCP is 10.2.50.1-250 (this is a HA device as well) , so basically to keep it neat this vlan should be a vlan with tag 250. and on the switch I could put ports open only for port 250.
and another port is then used only for vlan tag 230.
Or actually all ports should be open to vlan tag 250 I pressume as otherwise they cannot reach devices in vlan tag 250. (Or is this something that should be done in the Firewall rules of that vlan?