Homelab automatic DNS entries for new VMs/containers?

Just for background, I am trying to make my homelab better while also exploring adding an XCP-NG server and things like that. Currently, I have one low-power device running my most essential services as my UPS can keep it and the network switches up for almost three hours and I have a separate device for running heavier stuff on as its UPS can only keep it up for about 15 minutes. I have never used XCP-NG, but I figured adding it to my repertoire wouldn’t hurt.

I am not a networking expert, I do not work in the field (though, I’ve always like sysadmin/netadmin type stuff and it could be an interesting job) and as such I am not knowledgeable of all the common tools and services people use, so I’d appreciate not getting flamed for not knowing everything yet.

So, with all the above in mind, how do people handle adding newly-spun-up VMs and containers (Docker, LXC, LXD, something else?) to their DNS, so they can be accessed just by a name instead of an IP-address? I am currently using pfSense as my DNS-resolver, but every time I spin something new up, I have to go and manually add entries there and it gets kinda tedious; being able to just spin up something and it immediately being accessible by its hostname would be very nice. This being a homelab, I expose only Nextcloud and Wireguard to the Internet and everything else I access by connecting to my Wireguard instance and I have no intention of exposing my internal DNS-servers anywhere.

Welcome to the forums and there are ways of doing it but I don’t really use them so hopefully others will chime in. I have a few things that are configured in HAProxy but I don’t change them enough to warrant the effort of setting up automation around things like that. I am fine with just using IP’s when testing labs or setting up demo’s for my YouTube tutorials.