Home upgrade, pfSense 2.5.1

Hi all, so I’ve been working on upgrading my home network. I’ve added a Cambium Networks e600 AP, (I currently have it in test phase) this thing is cool! able to add multiple SSID’s, and VLAN’s. and a ton of other stuff, bit of a learning curve though! I’ve also purchased a Edge router 18X, waiting for delivery. So I have to put everything together, I would like a number of VLAN’s the first VLAN is for my security cameras, another VLAN for all the IoT devices, ie. lights, switches, thermostats, garage door opener, irrigation system, next a VLAN for guests, and lastly a VLAN for all the google stuff i.e. Chrome cast, and the likes. that VLAN will have access to the LAN for things like the printer and my NAS. All the VLAN’s with the exception of the last one only have access to the internet. Security is my main concern, any suggestions? I like pfSense, even though it has a leaning curve, but I’ve been using it for almost 3 years and it’s solid. I also considered opnSense and do have it running on a test machine, but documentation seem to be scarce. At one point I even considered Unifi, and the Dream Machine Pro, but then there was the security breach. But like I was saying earlier, I really like pfSense and most likely stick with it, unless someone has a compelling argument to switch. Lastly, pfSense is currently running on a QOTOM Q355G4 Mini PC - Core i5, AES-NI, 4 Intel LAN, been running for the last 6 months without a single hiccup. So any thoughts or suggestions, I’m pretty opened minded. Cheers

I prefer pfsense and I have a video here on how to build networks and separation with it between subnets/VLANS.

1 Like