Help with IoT device not connecting to internet

I’m rather new to Unifi and more advanced networking and trying to learn. I recently bought a USG, 16 POE Switch Lite, and 3 Nano-HDs. I setup an IoT VLAN using the instructions here https://robpickering.com/ubiquiti-configure-micro-segmentation-for-iot-devices/. It seems to work fine and my devices are blocked from my main LAN but can access the internet.

The problem I’m having is with one device called the PowerView Hub which controls automation for my blinds. This hub is having troubles connecting to the internet. I can control it fine if I’m on the same network, but it’s giving me an error saying it can’t connect to the internet. Without that, I can’t remotely control the blinds when I’m not at home. It was working fine for about a week but then suddenly it stopped working and I don’t know what happened. I haven’t upgraded anything or made any changes to my network in that time. If I disable the firewall rule for the IoT vlan, it still doesn’t work. The only way it works is if I hardwire it directly into my regular LAN, so it’s seems that something about that wireless VLAN is suddenly causing it to not be able to connect to the internet. It’s entirely possible it’s the device itself got messed up somehow, but I wanted to see if there’s any way for me to figure out why this one device is saying it can’t connect to the internet. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Now that’s a first world problem :face_with_hand_over_mouth:

If I were in your shoes I would set things up differently, I wouldn’t enable any remote access to home devices over the internet, instead I would use OpenVPN and dial-in.

If you can control your blinds when you are home then something is being blocked by your firewall. I’d guess a port is being blocked. Look through your logs and see what is happening.

Though if your devices only work if they have internet access then I would guess they are sending data home, not sure I would want that.