Help with 10G SFP+, MikroTik, and VLAN's

Hey all, I’m starting to do some upgrades to my little lab I got going on. My goal is to have my gaming PC/Workstation connected to my unRAID server through a 10G SFP+ connection using a MikroTik CRS305-1G-4S+. I want to be able to still access the internet/rest of the network but I want to make sure that the connection to the server is 10G speeds.

This is my Simplified setup:

(MikroTik in swOS and is connected to the UniFi switch through the management port)

I don’t have the SFP+ cables yet but I went ahead and did some configs in pfSENSE and the UniFi Controller.

VLAN ID/rules in pfSENSE:

UniFi Controller:
unifi

MikroTik VLAN/VLANS pages:

Now, couple of questions.

1. If the traffic has to go, let’s say (PC>MikroTik>UniFi>pfSense>UniFi>MikroTik>Server), would it slow to 1000BASE-T speeds once it hits the Unifi Switch and stay at that speed?

2. VLAN’s. I know there’s an error in there somewhere; go easy on me I’m still learning.

3. VLAN’s. Does this even make sense to do it this way? Am I over thinking it?

Thanks for any help.

Well, you certainly don’t need a different vlan just for the sake of having it. VLANs make sense when you want to separate hosts from each other (e.g. because of security reasons). They are a neat way of grouping hosts logically into separate networks without having to run more physical cables.

And certainly, when the Mikrotik switch passes traffic to the Unifi switch, it can only do so at the speed of 1 Gbit/s and the connection (in the sense of end-to-end communication) will be limited to that lower speed. Therefore, even though the PC and the server are both connected via 10 Gbit/s to the Mikrotik switch, if they are on separate networks, the switch(es) will always pass traffic coming from either one of the machines to the firewall, thus reducing the speed to 1 Gbit/s.