Help getting Intel 10G NIC working on Dell R330

Hi all,

First post - go easy on me :slight_smile:

The local ISP is now offering up to 8Gbit residential so I’ve started a new pfSense build to upgrade beyond our current 1Gbit connection.

Found myself a refurbished Dell R330 and a separate Intel X710 2 NIC 10G SFP+ card. I’ve been homelabbing for a couple of years, but this is my first server build.

iDRAC detects a newer firmware for Intel(R) Ethernet Converged Network Adapter X710 and downloads Network_Firmware_DK4G2_WN64_20.0.17_A00.EXE, however the update persistently fails with:

RED097: Unable to complete the firmware update operation because the specified firmware image is for a component that is not in the target system inventory.

I have pfSense running on the server (via the 1GBE ports) but cannot for the life of me figure out how to manually/force a firmware install for the card (whether with Dell firmware, or Intel).

If I just put some SFP+ modules in the NIC and try and use it, I lose connectivity almost immediately (although pfSense can see the interfaces and I can configure them).

Any advice on this is very much appreciated.

Andy

Have you tried putting the card is a standalone PC , to upgrade the firmware/

Hi Paul,

Talk about missing the obvious :man_facepalming:

Had gone down the rabbit hole of trying to get an Ubuntu desktop image running off a USB and then running a firmware update from CLI

Will try your approach tomorrow thanks.

Andy