Graylog - Docker Compose Error

Hello World!

I, generally speaking, a new (-ish) user in the world of docker-compose and containerization – but outside of that specific arena, I am a veteran of all things tech … so I’m trying to step outside my comfort zone, and I thought setting up Graylog with docker compose would be a good start. Although I’m getting an error during the container build process … because of course I am.

I followed Tom’s steps pretty close, and I’m getting a JAVA error from ‘opensearch’, which ultimately causes Graylog to fail. Here is the error from the console:

========================================================
opensearch | OpenSearchException[failed to bind service]; nested: AccessDeniedException[/usr/share/opensearch/data/nodes];
opensearch | Likely root cause: java.nio.file.AccessDeniedException: /usr/share/opensearch/data/nodes
opensearch | at java.base/sun.nio.fs.UnixException.translateToIOException(UnixException.java:90)
opensearch | at java.base/sun.nio.fs.UnixException.rethrowAsIOException(UnixException.java:106)
opensearch | at java.base/sun.nio.fs.UnixException.rethrowAsIOException(UnixException.java:111)
opensearch | at java.base/sun.nio.fs.UnixFileSystemProvider.createDirectory(UnixFileSystemProvider.java:397)
opensearch | at java.base/java.nio.file.Files.createDirectory(Files.java:700)
opensearch | at java.base/java.nio.file.Files.createAndCheckIsDirectory(Files.java:807)
opensearch | at java.base/java.nio.file.Files.createDirectories(Files.java:793)
opensearch | at org.opensearch.env.NodeEnvironment.lambda$new$0(NodeEnvironment.java:322)
opensearch | at org.opensearch.env.NodeEnvironment$NodeLock.(NodeEnvironment.java:259)
opensearch | at org.opensearch.env.NodeEnvironment.(NodeEnvironment.java:320)
opensearch | at org.opensearch.node.Node.(Node.java:506)
opensearch | at org.opensearch.node.Node.(Node.java:389)
opensearch | at org.opensearch.bootstrap.Bootstrap$5.(Bootstrap.java:242)