First Home Network Build

Hello all,

I am new to the networking world for home use. My fiance and I just closed on our home and I am going to geek the space out with my own home network. I plan to use the following pieces of kit and wire them as shown. If this isn’t the correct forum area please let me know so I may go to the correct area. This will be my first build-out and I’m hesitant to just go ordering a bunch of parts without some validation that my set up will play well together. I am mainly concerned with the ability to create VLANS using two different brand managed switches.

My goals for this set up were simple. Provide each room with 2 RJ45 jacks, have the ability to create VLANS, secure the perimeter with 5 POE cameras, have network storage, WAPs, and the ability to add in some home automation down the road. I started watching a lot of Lawrence’s youtube videos and they have helped tremendously in creating this list, as well as creating a diagram of how the network will be connected. Below is the hardware I plan to use in the install.

Hardware:

• Standard 8U Wall Mounted Server Rack
  • Netgate SG1100 gateway/firewall
  • NewYork Cables Cat6 48 Port Patch Panel
  • Zyxel 8-Port Gigabit PoE Switch | Smart Managed
  • TP-Link 16-Port Gigabit Ethernet Easy Smart Managed Switch
  • Unifi AP AC Lite
  • CAT6 cable
  • Synology 2 Bay NAS DiskStation DS220j
  • (6) Reolink 5MP Bullet Cams

I have included below a diagram that I drew up of the network. This is the first diagram I’ve drawn (go easy on me lol) and any feedback on better ways to make it all work would be greatly appreciated.

I am excited to get involved on this forum and soak in all of the knowledge I can!

1 Like

Like most things it’s trial and error, you’ll find out that you need things that you never even heard of! Some points that I encountered when setting up the nth iteration of my network that might also be relevant to you or you might want to consider: