Firewall for Small Office?

Context: I’m a Software Engineer and I have very limited IT / Networking experience.

My company is moving into an office (used to be remote until now) and I’m trying to figure out what the best setup for our network / firewall is.

Our building has a 1Gbps link but no VLAN setup for each individual tenant. We have the following hardware ready / planned:

We will also have a NAS server in the coming months and we’d like to setup a private WiFi access point as well. We might be adding another server to the mix in the next couple of months as well (depending on Cloud GPU availability and testing requirements).

We use Tailscale for our VPN (this is installed on each machine or instance so there’s no network-level VPN to worry about).

Originally our plan was to pick up a Ubiquiti Dream Machine Pro but it literally went out of stock right before we could make a purchase, and it looks like there won’t be more availability until October.

I’d like to isolate our network and was looking at other vendors.

(sorry can’t include more than two links)

Netgate 3100 looks like a good purchase, and so does Untangle’s Z4W (the subscription is unsavory, but not a deal breaker).

Questions:

• If I add a Firewall / Router I assume I’ll have a “Double NAT” problem, is this actually a problem in office environments?
  • If I add a Firewall / Router would intra-office traffic go through the router, or will I just be limited by the Firewall / Router for external traffic? I assume this might be a configurable behavior.

Network Topology would be the Firewall at the top. AP plugged into the Firewall (it’s 1Gbps anyway so saves on SFP RJ45 module cost). 10GbE switch plugged into the Firewall. All laptops plugged into 10GbE switch.

No “untrusted” devices on the network but I assume I can spin off a AP w/ VLAN for any IoT devices we may eventually want to invest in.

1 Like