Firewall Comparison Chart/List

Hi All, I am a pro open source advocate to my clients when I can be. I am looking at using a PFSense appliance ‘Netgate’ or even Mikrotik, or Ubiquity product for a new clients firewall. The were previously using a Sonicwall but they were getting tired of the fees. They are fine with using a contractor for service issues and don’t want subscription-based support.

I searched the forum to see if there is any type of list or chart or a ‘Top 10’ preferred firewalls. I am especially looking for one with the highest bang for the buck. One that offers at or more than 250mbps throughput after applying IPS, DPI and can rival the larger vendors like Sonicwall.

Can anyone give me their opinion on their favorite firewalls that offer high throughput over 250mbps after applying filtering/IPS/DPI ?

Well, isnt a sonicall more a UTM device whereas pfSense isnt really, its a firewall with add-on packages that can handle IPS/IDS etc, A better comparison product next to a Sonicwall maybe Untangle

Got a few out in the wild, love it as much as I do pfSense.

https://www.untangle.com/

Yes correct Sonicwall is a UTM. The client wants a non subscription based appliance but with IPS and Filtering capabilities. They are aware they will need to do updates and may have to get a consultant as needed if problems occur but are fine with that.

I will look into Untangle as you suggested.

While I do like using Suricata & pfblockerNG with pfsense, Untangle is a really more complete automated solution. But if they are really wanting the no-fees, pfsense is a nice system. But pfsense is still a solid choice for people not wanting a subscription.

The Mikrotik are cheap, complicated and not that easy but have plenty of features at the cost of steep learning curve. UniFi are really nice, but very basic in terms of features.

1 Like

The two that I use the most, are pfSense and Unifi Security Gateway where budget and needs are at.