Favorite Firewall Solution - Community POLL

What’s your favorite firewall solution and why? I know @LTS_Tom’s favorite is PfSense but I wonder what other people around the community choose?

• PfSense
  • Untangle
  • Cisco
  • Other

0 voters

1 Like

Depends on situation. I have some amount of experience with almost every platform.
For managed customers, WatchGuard, unless they buy into Meraki. We have taken over Juniper, Fortinet, and others. We used to offer Cisco ASA but stopped. You might notice a theme here - our target industry expects a full subscription based service.
For my house and tech savvy friends, Mikrotik, sometimes with a USG with NAT disabled behind it for the DPI. Once you get past the UI oddness, Mikrotik is almost a direct mapping of linux functions and networking basics, which makes is easy for us to understand what’s going on under the covers. Waiting on a way to disable NAT on the UDM/UDMP before buying one. Or UI can make it good enough that I don’t need to disable NAT and get rid of the Mikrotik - unlikely.
For virtualized utility installs, PFSense. Usually these are less about firewall and more about basic routing and VPN.
For nonprofit convention networking, Tomato, OpenWRT, or Mikrotik. This is about strict economy and flexibility.

2 Likes

I use pfSense for my home and cloud hosting business. For my data center project work I use Cisco Firepower (FPRs), Palo Altos, and Checkpoints. For offices I use Cisco (FPR and Meraki) and Fortinet. For public cloud I’ll use Cisco CSRs as well as the built in network services. It really depends on the existing infrastructure that I will be connecting to and required security services such as IPS, remote access VPN, identity mgmt, and MFA.

1 Like

OPNsense gets my vote. I’m a fan of it being open-source, flexible hardware (much like pfSense), and importantly for me is 2FA with TOTP without subscriptions or paid add-ons.

1 Like