Enterprise or Consumer Server for Small Buisness

Hi,

I have an interesting topic that I cant really find an answer too, and I suspect its really more of a matter of opinion than anything at all, but I was curious if I could hear from some IT guys that arn’t tying to sell me anything.

Some background, I make my living in the tradess, and have been for 10+ years, but have always been into technology/computers/IT as a hobby since my teens. Tinkering at home, playing in the home server environment, Unraid, plex, have a nice ubiquiti setup at home… that sorta thing.

As I now am out of the “field” and found myself in an office/supervising position of our company. I took a bit of an interest in our IT infrastructure, mostly because I found we are spending 10’s of thousands a year for “IT” (Its Canadian $$, but still) . We are a company of 25 or so, but an office of 6 - 8… I by no means have experience in IT in a business environment, but think I got a good handle on it.

I sat in on a meeting a few weeks back pitched by our managed IT provider, that says our server needs a re-fresh as its approaching end of dell warranty (3yr)… . and its going to cost $20K+ (Labor, licenses and hardware, but $12k was hardware! ) Here’s the thing… the server just runs 3 VM’s on VMware… Xeon E3-1240L, 32GB Ram and some 10K drives. I believe the quote for the new one was a 16core xeon, 4 x 960 enterprise SSD’s and 64GB RAM

1 DC for all of 8 people, that stores our files. Its about 1.5TB, and probably only 200GB of which I would consider active with projects on the go, user profiles and the database file for our application server.
Our application server running our accounting program (max 3 users at any given time, typically 2, but psql database is upto about 8GB of transaction)