DNS redirect issue

Hi everyone,

I’d want to make sure that my LAN clients only use my pfsense firewall as a DNS resolver or any DNS server IP set on it. Anyway this setting here seems not to be working:

https://pfsense-docs.readthedocs.io/en/latest/dns/redirecting-all-dns-requests-to-pfsense.html

Clients can browse internet using their DNS settings. I then set these two rules in my pfsense firewall:

But if a client set any dns server Ip in network proprieties, my pfsense keeps it from browsing internet. I think that it is a bit overkilled, I’d just want to redirect it to pfsense’s dns whichever Ip it can ever set.
Could you help work this out please?
Thanks

I’ve never tried this before, but thought I would give it a go following the Netgate guide and apply it to my guest VLAN. Like you I found it blocked all dns traffic and did not redirect, result no internet access, even for machines outside of the guest VLAN, which was a bit odd. I followed the guide and set 127.0.0.1 as the ip to redirect to, if I changed it to the specific ip of pfSense for that VLAN it all started working. So it looks like something goes wrong if you use 127.0.0.1.

You don’t need the block rule. Just set the port 53 pass rule to a destination of 127.0.0.1…this firewall probably works too but I use 127.0.0.1. I use the redirect port 53 pass rule on all my networks including OpenVPN network. Works fine.

@jeff3820
Arre you talking about the NAT rule I linked above?
It doesn’t work.

This is what I use…Use a firewall rule like this in each of your LANs:

Then under firewall, NAT, port forward put in a rule like this for each of your LANs:

That works for me…all port 53 requests are mapped to the firewall to however you have setup your DNS. I use the DNS resolver to forward DNS and have enabled DOT. No issues at all

@jeff3820
I set the suggested rules.
Althought I see records in firewall log:

Apr 10 07:24:43 LAN NAT redirect DNS (1586502034) 192.168.5.14:49166 127.0.0.1:53 UDP