Costing / Pricing query

Hi All,

This might be too much of a “personal” question for an open forum but I wondered if anyone would be willing to share some of their cost calculations and hourly rate. I know Tom has his hourly rate on the website and thought that given his general open approach that some others here might do the same.

I’m going through the process of moving from break fix to a more managed proactive service. I’m currently trying to decide what I should be looking to charge per device and am really struggling. I think that most of the computers I currently manage I only ever need to touch once or twice a year so coming up with a monthly “On average I spend x hours per PC” seems a bit silly and I will be calculating my billing by the second almost. Same applies to phones, switches, servers, access points etc. The actual hands on per device time per month is really quite low.

I’m also not sure where to place my hourly rate. I’ve been doing this for 20 years so I know I can’t be too far off or I wouldn’t have any work. I know that hourly rates will vary massively by region and that I need to be charging enough to cover my costs. The UK nationals minimum wage is just short of £9 per hour and I currently charge between £50 and £75 depending on the customer and the type of work (pulling network cable costs less than sitting on management committees). This works out at somewhere between 5.5x and 8.5 times that minimum, I wondered if anyone else could look at a similar ratio (easy if you are in the UK…).

I do understand that some people might find this too detailed to be prepared to share but if you can I would appreciate it, a DM would also work if you don’t mind sharing but don’t want it on the forum.

I’m from the UK so I know the cheapskate culture it’s all to pervasive, that is a major hurdle.