Confused about differentiating subdomains and destinations - PfSense & HAProxy

Hello,

First of all, allow me to admit that I’m a total noob - Do forgive me for my (perhaps) very silly questions.

I’m running PfSense and FreePBX on a homelab for testing and learning.

I’ve followed the great LTS HaProxy, Pfsense, acme and letsencrypt guide and everything is wroking great. I can access freepbx.myjokeokfadomain.com, for example, and my browser will report a secure connection with the correct cert being delivered.

However, there is a fundamental thing that I don’t understand:

Both of my subdomains, let’s say: freepbx.myjokeokfadomain .com & home.myjokeofadomain .com (PfSense gui, just for testing, limited to a single remote IP I own) point to the same WAN IP.

I was under the impression that simply going to each subdomain will have haproxy send them to the correct port, but that’s not the case.

For example: going to freepbx .myjokeofadomain.com:10443, will reach pfsense. It will give a cert error, but it will get there.

Am I doing something wrong or is it actually a normal behavior? I’m willing to learn!

Thanks a lot,

Noam.

The idea of a reverse proxy is for it to be the single endpoint for multiple websites. A client only needs to be able to connect to the reverse proxy and the reverse proxy needs to be able to connect to the upstream services. While it’s certainly possible that a reverse proxy listens on multiple different sets of ports, that’s not a common case. So you wouldn’t usually add ports like you did with the 10443 example.