Confused about configuring a Management VLAN in pfSense?

I understand why it’s a good idea to have a management VLAN and I want to set one up. My plan was to give it a tag of 10 and use the subnet 10.1.1.x.
But when I add this VLAN in pfSense and go to configure the interface, if I choose Static IP for the IPv4 Configuration type, then under Static IPv4 Configuration, I need to use an IPv4 address of 10.1.1.1 (don’t I? or can I use something like 10.1.1.42?) I’m new to setting up VLANs and I’m stumbling through all this with the help of online tutorials and YouTube videos - so choosing Static IP is the only way I know to do this…
But my LAN interface is set to 10.1.1.x because my router’s IP is is set to 10.1.1.1.
Am I mistaken that whatever IPv4 address I choose for my LAN interface - that’s going to be my router’s IP address? Or am I misunderstanding that any VLAN needs to use a subnet that’s different from my LAN interface? And if both of those are true, how the heck are you supposed to get your router onto a management VLAN?

In moving on to setting up other VLANs, it occurred to me that if every non-management device on my network is assigned to one VLAN or another, then 10.1.1.x kind of becomes a management VLAN by default. I mean, it’s not actually a VLAN but rather my LAN - but if everything else is on some VLAN, then 10.1.1.x becomes isolated anyway. Right?

Which brings up the question… if everything else is on one VLAN or another, how does any device connect to the router, switch, or APs to configure them? VPN? Bastion+SSH?

A VLAN is the same as any other network on pfsense except that it shares the physical interface with another network. So yet you still assign the IP in pfsense the same and you setup DHCP for that interface the same.

I have a tutorial here on how to do it with UnIFi as the switch, but the concept the same as any other switch.

2 Likes

Thank you, Tom! I’ll go watch that now.