Book Recommendation for pfSense

Hi everyone,

I’ve been using pfSense for my home network for a couple years, mostly learning from videos like Toms and a few others. I still struggle with a few rules, running multiple SSIDs and directing one to not using the VPN on PIA.

Can anyone recommend a textbook that helps with this? Below are three that I’ve seen on Amazon but do they address this issue are they worth buying?

1. Pfsense A Complete Guide - 2020 Edition by Gerardus Blokdyk (released SEP 2019)

2. Learn pfSense 2.4: Get up and running with Pfsense and all the core concepts to build firewall and routing solutions by David Zientara (released July 2018)

3. pfSense 2.x Cookbook: Manage and maintain your network using pfSense, 2nd Edition by David Zientara (released DEC 2018)
    Others?

Any advice would be greatly welcomed.

Thank you,

JT

I’d say Netgates documentation is pretty good https://docs.netgate.com/pfsense/en/latest/index.html, just download the pdf.

There are also old pfsense Youtube videos from netgate that I found useful.

Or ask some more specific questions here and people might be able to help you work it out.

Thank you neogrid I’ll check it out.

Hi garethw

Thank you.

I watched one of Tom’s video’s (Office Network Design and Planning with VLANs, LLDP, Rules, IoT, Guest using UniFi & pfsense).

I’m running pfSense on 6 Port Protectli Vault, have a Gen2 cloud key, a UniFi 8 port managed switch, a UniFi WAP and I’m running a LAN along with 3 VLANs with SSIDs for each.

I set up one VLAN for my iOT devices but when my VPN runs all traffic gets passed through the VPN and I get connection errors from Netflix, and others when trying to stream video.

It worked on the legacy PIA network but once upgraded everything gets blocked. I’ve followed the video several times and rebuilt the network at least three times but I assume I’m not writing the rule properly.

Any thoughts?