Basic Network Set Up

Hello all, the great YouTube videos led me here, thanks for all the hard work. I am setting up a home lab (web server,NAS, Plex, cloud server, any and everything), I have the internet up (a vlan for the wife’s work laptop, vlan for all other wifi and a wired lan) but that’s it. I have 17,689 questions so let me just start at the beginning (I am a home lab noob so please be gentle.).

1. I have a 1Gb (maybe 2Gb in the future) fiber connection going into a non netgear, Pfsense appliance, it has 6 x Intel 2.5GbE I225-V LAN going to an Ubiquiti UniFi Switch (USW-Lite-16-PoE), currently I have 3 cables connecting them. One trunk cable would work for now but would 5 be better? What are the best practices? Are there any advantages/disadvantage to using more or less cables (less cables take up less ports but is it better to use more cables)? With 5 ports do I even need vlans or should I just run a lan networks off of each port or 5 vlans on 5 ports?
    I hope this question make sense, I have a long way to go and any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks in advance.

On my opinion, I would suggest to put 2 interface into lagg and then trunk it. Having 5 interface for lagg is not really beneficial unless you have hundreds of devices that can saturate all 5 interfaces.

Another advantage is if you think need more interface in the future, it is easier to add another interface into the lagg rather than removing an interface from the lagg.

1 Like

For what it’s worth this is what I do, I too have a pfsense box with 6 ports, WAN, LAN and the remaining 4 I put in a LACP LAGG to my switch handling all my vlans. I keep the LAN on the router, so that if for some reason I need to directly access the router because the switch has failed then I can but I don’t use it for anything else.