Allow VPN access into a multi gateway network using HAProxy

Hello. Would like to get some guidance on this project of mine and see if I may be on the right track.

We have a situation here where we will have two physical router gateways on the network, each connected to its own ISP. Due to business requirements, we cannot merge the two WANs onto a single router, thus two routers must exist.

Going forward we want users to be able to VPN into either gateway of their chosing, and be able to access the internal-web-server, as seen in the diagram below.

The general idea below is to setup a dedicated HAProxy server, set all devices’s default gateway to point to the HAProxy, and have HAProxy handle the connections to the routers. Unfortunately I am quite new to this whole proxy thing and not sure if HAProxy would do what Im looking for. Or can I place a pfSense router with HAProxy package on there and achieve the same thing?

As a FYI, currently we have all devices’s gateway are pointing to Router Gateway 1. The problem is that when remote users VPN via WAN-XYZ, into Router Gateway 2, they are unable to access the internal-web-server. To my understanding, this problem is due to the default gateway on the internal-web-server is set to Router Gateway 1.

Am I on the right track here?

Addition notes Router 2 will be a pfSense router.

Thank you in advance :slight_smile:

I don’t understand how business requirements could drive a overly complex setup with two separate routers but one work around would be setting up both routers as gateways on each system which means setting every system as static IP and choosing one of the gateways as default.

Hi Tom

Highly appreciated for your response!