Advice for Choosing an 8-Bay NAS: TrueNAS Mini XL+ and Synology DS1821+

Hello,

Good afternoon. This is probably a bit intense for my first post, but I’m shopping for my first small business/home office NAS, and I could really use some advice on how to go forward.

I’m planning on purchasing my first NAS. I should say up front I have a strong technical background, but I have no experience with NASes, so I’m sort of diving in to the deep end of the pool based on what I want to do. I’m used to tinkering with various servers, computers, web admin interfaces, etc., so hte fact that the TrueNAS OS is more complex and less abstracted is not really a consideration for me.

I have roommates and work from home, so I’d like to start out investing in something fairly powerful, with plenty of upgrading potential. That’s got me looking at the two 8 bay options listed above: TrueNAS Mini XL+ and Synology DS1821+. (Note: the DS1821+ is an announced but not yet shipping version of this 6 bay machine: https://www.synology.com/en-us/products/DS1621+ )

It’s my understanding, up front, that either the Synology or the TrueNAS Mini XL+ would work for my needs, and provide both more power than I actually need at the moment, as well as room to expand. One issue I have with Synology’s offering is that it’s almost too good at abstracting how the RAID and everything else actually works. I’d like to actually learn how to assemble a RAID array and manage it, so I have the option of building my own from scratch some day when I want to upgrade–especially if that would save money. That would seem to point at the TrueNAS as being the better option. In that light, I suppose I’m looking for any reason I absolutely should not choose one of these products given my proposed use case.

I’d really appreciate any advice or suggestions. Thanks!

Some usage notes and questions: