Access to both networks from another openvpn connection

Hello all,

I have been using pfSense for a couple of years or so now. I use it to access my home network from remote. It works very well for what I need.

Recently, one of my sons set up a pfSense box for the same purpose.

Today, we decided to create a site to site vpn between the two pfSense boxes. This works and we can both access resources on the other’s network.

But, we would like to have access to both networks when we are connected from remote in our personal VPN. In our case, openvpn server 1 on both boxes connect on the 1194 port. The second openvpn server is the site to site vpn.

How or what do we need to do to make both networks available to each others remote connection? I am at a loss as to how to accomplish this. Thus would make a great tutorial video Tom (hint hint) haha

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Joe

It takes some extra routing but if you are using Wireguard for the site to site you should be able to ad the extra routes from OpenVPN in. Not a setup I have tested.

If you have your two sites connected with say a peer-to-peer OpenVPN connection then it sounds like you are on at least different subnets.

You can setup a OpenVPN Remote Access Server at each site to access either networks when you are on the road. Switching between the OpenVPN clients on your phone is easy enough. So you have access to one network, where all the traffic on your mobile is routed through the VPN.

If you do not route all your traffic through the VPN, you can state the remote network in OpenVPN. However, in your client on the road the internet traffic won’t be routed through the VPN.