You Own It You PWN IT! Defend Your Right to Repair!

Spot on!

It’s important to raise awareness on this. One point that I would add to the arguments is the environmental footprint. Loosing the ability to repair outside vendors and the oligopoly around it could easily lead to high prices for repair, as you mentioned, forcing people to throw away devices/machines that are otherwise affordably serviceable.

1 Like

I don’t understand for one why this keeps happening. Analogous to your story on tractors, legislation was passed along time ago you could take your car to an outside repair facility (ie not the dealership) for repairs and your warranty would still be valid. I’m not sure how case law like this doesn’t apply to phones or technology. It’s similar.

2 Likes

This is my first time posting so forgive me if it is wrong in some way. I just began studying for my Comptia Security+ when I watched this video. I didn’t know Comptia was this type of company. I already passed the A+ and Net+. My question is what do I do? Should I study for another security standard? Are the Microsoft certs any better? Or am I trading one evil for another?

Don’t overthink it, sometimes the world is not as simple as choosing one or another. Seeing as so many companies still require it to get a job in the field it may be necessary to deal with them.