You can use Vim keys in your bash prompt!

So, I don’t know how I missed this for so long but you can use your favorite Vim commands in your bash prompt! Man, I wish I knew this when I was getting stated with server management. And it’s really simple to enable, just add set -o vi to your .bashrc file. Then, when you source your .bashrc or bounce your session you start off in Insert mode, just hit esc to enter normal mode. Use “bind -P” to see what bindings are set and available (make sure you’re in Normal mode first by hitting esc before hitting enter). There’s a lot that isn’t available in bash, but enough that I now have another area I don’t need my mouse. :+1:

Yes, I’ve recommitted to use Vim because I wish I had done this back when I started programming! I’ve easily spent more time trying out different editors/IDEs and fighting with them to do what I needed than actually doing work.

Is it wrong to admit I’ve using VI and VIM since the 90’s when I ran Slackware?

Good tips! Just don’t get your Modes mixed up… :stuck_out_tongue:

Not at all wrong! Lol. It’s good that you’ve been using Vi(m) that long, means you probably have a lot of knowledge about best practices and bad habits!

And no doubt about keeping modes straight! But just goes to show the power of a good editor.