UniFi Controller Let's Encrypt

HEJ

I have followed these two videos but after letsencrypt so stop my controls to work. When I visit the page, it tries to set up the secure connection gene then it makes it take too long

Hosted UniFi Controller Setup on Vultr

Let’s Encrypt UniFi

Based on the information you provided and assuming that you could establish a connection to the controller GUI prior to doing the LE thing, two possible problems come to mind:

1. The LE cert generation was not successful. You can check this by examining the contents of the /etc/letsencrypt/live/YOUR-DOMAIN/fullchain.pem file. To make sure it’s an actual, syntactically valid certificate, you can try it in an online certificate decoder like this arbitrary one I found on Google.

2. There was a problem with the unifi_ssl_import.sh script. I’ve no experience using this method, but it might be misconfigured or simply broken.

Either of these scenarios could lead to the controller’s web server not starting up correctly and thus, you not being able to access the GUI. I actually don’t know whether the controller uses multiple servers for the GUI and the inform process, or if it’s the same server. But have you tried adopting an AP (I mean SSH-ing into the AP and using the set-inform command)?

But let me just say, I’m not very fond of the whole routine presented by Chris in the first place. I find it complicated and error-prone. My prefered way of setting up a unifi controller (when you’re already renting a whole VPS for that) is to use docker.