Taking a hit on a first job with a new client

Hi Tom,

I’m in my first year running an IT business, and whilst i am still getting to grasps with correctly pricing jobs, i am considering taking a hit on profit margins for jobs with new clients that have the promise of future work. I am trying hard to work with property developers and thought it may be a good way to get a foot in the door with them by offering an attractive quote on a first job.

What are your thought on this?

Thank you for your Youtube videos, they’ve been a source of great help and advice.

Hammond

1 Like

For customers where you expect to make recurring revenue through a support contract, it can be a very powerful bargaining chip to take a cut on profit margin for the initial installation. That is very common in my industry, which is networking for hotels, but we don’t do it for every job. We’re a large enough company that we have separate sales persons, and its their discretion when and how much of a discount to offer.

For your position of using a discount on a one-time job to curry favor for future one-time jobs, the situation is more difficult. I have heard before that if the potential customer asks for this, as in they imply but don’t outright promise that a discount now will get you more work in the future, to try to stay away from that customer - they are not business you want, unless you are desperate for the income. But if the customer doesn’t ask for a discount, and you are comfortable with them, I don’t see any issue in offering a discount. Just make sure its clear in your line-item invoice - put the discount after the subtotal but before the taxes.

1 Like

Thanks Bruce, that is very helpful insight. As a thought, and seeing as you are part of a large company, what sort of markup do you put on 1. equipment, and 2. outsourced labour?