Single-Host Hypervisors

Hello all. I’m a long-time watcher, first-time poster.

That said, I am aware of Tom’s liking to XCP-ng as a virtualization platform. Because of his videos on it, I’ve been seriously considering it as a virtualization host for myself (I own and run my small business and I don’t need much for a server - I use a Dell R720xd).

What I need are a few Windows VMs so that I can keep certain apps running in one location, and convenient for me to access when I’m away.

So far, I have limited experience with both ESXi 7 and ProxMox 7. I ran XCP-ng and Xen Orchestra in my home lab for a hot minute but didn’t stick with it because the learning curve for me at the time was beyond what I was willing to do for the application.

Now that I’m looking at changing the way I run my business servers and get more into virtualization, I’ve been doing some testing with running Windows VMs on ProxMox and am incredibly unhappy with how unstable Windows 11 has been on it. I understand there’s some tuning that may be necessary, but it seems like running the world’s most ubiquitous operating system should just work, especially considering I am not doing any PCI passthrough at all.

That said, I’m willing to delve deeper into XCP-ng/XO but I’m getting the impression that whole ecosystem is more geared towards clustered hosts and that’s just not what I’m planning to do.

So, that said, I’m looking for some input on what others in my position are doing/have done and maybe can give me a sanity check.

Thanks!

I have been running XCP-ng for 2 years now on a non-clustered HP DL-360 in my homelab. No complaints. I bought a second server for spares and cold standby backups, just to save power vs clustering. I use both XO and XCP-ng center, preferring the latter for my non-complex setup.
Mostly ubuntu VMs but also Windows just as a trial.
Most of the learning curve for me was understanding the storage options.

Unstable how?