PfSense NEwb - First hardware first time using pfsense

Pfsense-Newb
So i have a big event coming up and ive decided that i might need to get a heavier piece of equipment to try and just have something with some more power. And with one of the networks im planning to have around 5000 clients or more connected. and i wanted to see if i could do a few things.

One of the things ive done in the past with edge routers(ubiquiti edge) when i have large subnet is create a source nat rule with a block of address public. so that i can have a network of lets say

10.10.168.0/23 dynamically going out of range of public address 1.2.3.4 - 1.2.3.20…

I have found out house to do this by just using the virtual address and being able to switch between one network and one public but im trying to do this with a big local subnet and a block of publics.

Also since im new to this and a friend just sold me an r210 server for cheap that ive installed this on, any tips to check how the ssystem is running on cpu and ram and what not would be appreciated as well.

Thank you !!

Also another thing i noticed when i create the static route for the internet it only let me create 0.0.0.0/1… is that ok im used to creating static routes to the internet as 0.0.0.0/0… dont know what lives in that /1 but just thought id ask

1 Like

I am not clear on your public IP question but they have a write up here pfSense® software Configuration Recipes — Routing Public IP Addresses | pfSense Documentation

As for the hardware, the XG-7100 can handle that many clients so make sure your hardware is at least this fast.

https://shop.netgate.com/products/7100-base-pfsense