Network Setup Questions

First, thank you so much for the videos on youtube. They’ve been so helpful as I’ve headed down the rabbit hole of network admin.

TLDR: networking novice working in remote east central africa needs advice before buying lots of equipment.

A bit of background, I’m a surgeon working for a non-profit at a hospital in rural Burundi (East Central Africa). I’d consider myself a tech enthusiast and a quick study, but I have no formal training in networking. Due to limitations in staffing I’m the de facto IT guy for the team right now. For context I setup a Linux VM on my computer to host Ubiquiti’s UNMT for our airMax equipment and Jitsi-meet to allow us to have locally hosted video conferencing during the early days of covid because of our limited internet connection.

We have two (currently separate) networks, one up at the hospital and one on the housing side each with their own separate internet connections. Though for an eye popping price, we are fortunate enough to have a fiber optic connection (Hospital 5 MBps symmetric, Housing 20 MBps symmetric).

For the hospital network we are currently using Synology equipment, but have been having lots of issues with our guest network. For now it’s only used for internet for staff and guests (about 50 active devices at any time), none of our health records etc. are digital. In the next few years we plan to start that transition. In anticipation of adding tons of computers and at least a couple servers to host our medical record, billing, digital xray etc. I’m hoping to build out our network to meet our future needs.

My plan is to buy into the Ubiquiti ecosystem (UDM pro, 24 port POE switch, RPS, Unifi protect NVR, lots UAP-Pro’s, a few Mesh AP for gap coverage, and some Flex switches for distribution at key points). The backbone will for the most part be hardwired. I plan to separate our network into three vlans.
Vlan 1 - work computers + servers
Vlan 2 - guest network
Vlan 3 - medical devices